top of page

CULTURE OF CARE

No one may inflict pain, suffering or harm on animals without good reason (§1 TierSchG). No other human-animal relationship appears to be in conflict with our moral beliefs that animals are worthy of protection as much as animal-experimental research. With the change in the revision of the directive on the protection of animals used for scientific purposes (2010/63/EU), animal welfare considerations in keeping, care, breeding and use in the sense of a lived culture of care (CoC) should have top priority._cc781905-5cde- 3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_


The term Culture of Care comes from the Anglo-Saxon area in the field of care and medicine. A CoC stands for the entirety of the jointly developed values and patterns of an organization and reflects the quality of the care that is practiced. Securing the well-being of the person to be cared for and equally the well-being of the person caring for them (employee well-being) have top priority. 


In German usage, the culture of care is often translated as good care culture. However, if one respects the demands on a lived CoC, this term should be used more broadly as a culture of care and responsibility. Conducting animal experiments or the public stigmatization of one's own work as cruel and dirty can lead to individual psychological stress and ethical conflict situations in all professional groups involved in animal research (see also:Laboratory Animal Science Compact).

 

If we basically say 'yes' to animal experimental research, then we as a scientific community must commit ourselves to promoting animal welfare (animal protection), research quality, employee welfare and transparency with the highest priority in the sense of a lived CoC. A lived culture of care and responsibility therefore combines these elements and, in addition to the classic 3R principles (Replacement/Reduction/Refinement), addresses reproducibility and the two core elements of responsibility and respect. With a code of ethics defined in this way, we will implement our own, legal and social requirements for animal welfare in a responsible manner and at the same time meet our responsibility towards employee welfare. 


If we want to achieve and ensure maximum animal welfare, then we need people who are particularly caring, compassionate and empathetic. But it is precisely these who have a higher risk of suffering from physical and mental work stress in the long term. Without an appropriate intervention strategy, this condition can lead to the phenomenon of compassion fatigue. Compassion fatigue is described as a state of physical and mental (mental) exhaustion and not only leads to a reduction in one's own quality of life, but also to a reduction in work performance, up to and including inability to work (1-5).


In Germany, too, we must therefore address work-related, psychological stress and the effects on mental (human) well-being more presently within the scientific community involved in animal experiments and within the individual organizations. Because only the well-being of our employees, colleagues and our own well-being ensures maximum animal welfare. For me it is therefore a personal matter close to my heart not only to address the topics of mental stress, compassion faith and human well-being as an element of a CoC in animal experimental research and with you, but to accompany them professionally and actively. To this end, I have also undergone further training in the area of a healthy working environment (see References section).

literature:


1. Cocker and Joss, 2016, PMID 27338436
2. Ferrara 2020,Laboratory Animal Science Compact
3. LaFollete et al. 2020, PMID 32195275
4. Murray et al., 2020, PMID 33330693
5. Randall et al., 2021, PMID 33028460

bottom of page

CULTURE OF CARE

Niemand darf Tieren ohne vernünftigen Grund Schmerzen, Leiden oder Schäden zufügen (§1 TierSchG). Keine andere Mensch‐Tier‐Beziehung scheint augenscheinlich so im Konflikt mit unseren moralischen Überzeugungen auf die Schutzwürdigkeit von Tieren zu stehen wie die tierexperimentelle Forschung. Mit Änderung der Revision der Direktive zum Schutz der für wissenschaftliche Zwecke verwendeten Tiere (2010/63/EU), sollen Tierschutzerwägungen in Haltung, Pflege, Zucht und Verwendung im Sinne einer gelebten Culture of Care (CoC) oberste Priorität haben. 


Der Begriff Culture of Care entstammt aus dem angelsächsischen Raum aus dem Bereich der Pflege und Medizin. Eine CoC steht für die Gesamtheit der gemeinsam entwickelten Werte und Muster einer Organisation und spiegelt die Qualität der gelebten Pflege. Dabei stehen Sicherung des Wohles der zu pflegenden Person und gleichermaßen das Wohl der pflegenden Person (Mitarbeiterwohl) an oberster Stelle. 


Im deutschen Sprachgebrauch wird die Culture of Care häufig als gute Pflegekultur umgesetzt. Respektiert man aber die Ansprüche an eine gelebten CoC, sollte dieser Begriff weitfassender als Kultur der Fürsorge und Verantwortung verwendet werden. Die Durchführung von Tierversuchen selbst oder die öffentliche Stigmatisierung der eigenen Arbeit als grausam und schmutzig, können zu individuellen psychischen Belastungen und ethischen Konfliktsituationen bei allen Berufsgruppen der tierexperimentellen Forschung führen (siehe auch: Versuchstierkunde Kompakt).

 

Sagen wir grundsätzlich, Ja‘ zur tierexperimentellen Forschung, dann müssen wir uns als Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft selbst dazu verpflichten, Tierwohl (Tierschutz), Forschungsqualität, Mitarbeiterwohl und Transparenz mit höchster Priorität im Sinne einer gelebten CoC zu fördern. Eine gelebte Kultur der Fürsorge und Verantwortung verbindet deshalb diese Elemente und adressiert neben den klassischen 3R‐Prinzipien (Replacement/Reduction/Refinement), die Reproduzierbarkeit (Reproducibilty) und die beiden Kernelemente Responsibility (Verantwortung) und Respect (Respekt). Mit einem so definierten Ethikkodex werden wir die eigenen sowie gesetzlichen und gesellschaftlichen Anforderungen an das Tierwohl verantwortungsvoll umsetzen und gleichzeitig der Verantwortung gegenüber Mitarbeiterwohl gerecht. 


Wollen wir maximales Tierwohl erreichen und sichern, dann brauchen wir Menschen die besonders fürsorglich, mitfühlend und empathisch sind. Doch genau diese haben ein höheres Risiko langfristig unter den physischen und psychischen Arbeitsbelastungen zu leiden. Ohne geeignete Interventionsstrategie kann diese Leiden zum Phänomen der Compassion Fatigue führen. Compassion Fatigue (Mitleidsmüdigkeit), ist als ein Zustand der physischen und mentalen (-psychische) Erschöpfung beschrieben und führt nicht nur zur Reduktion der eigenen Lebensqualität, sondern auch zur Minderung der Arbeitsleitung bis hin zur Arbeitsunfähigkeit (1-5).


Auch in Deutschland müssen wir deshalb arbeitsbedingte, psychische Belastung und Auswirkungen auf das mentale (menschliche) Wohlbefinden präsenter innerhalb der tierexperimentellen Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft thematisieren und innerhalb der einzelnen Organisationen adressieren. Denn nur das Wohlbefinden unserer Mitarbeiter:innen, Kollegen:innen und unser eigenes Wellbeing sichert maximales Tierwohl. Für mich ist es deshalb eine persönliche Herzensangelegenheit die Themen mentale Belastungen, Compassion Faitgue und menschliches Wohlbefinden als Element einer CoC in der tierexperimentellen Forschung und bei Ihnen nicht nur zu thematisieren, sondern professionell und aktiv zu begleiten. Dafür habe ich mich zusätzlich im Bereich gesundes Arbeitsumfeld weitergebildet (siehe Abschnitt Referenzen).

Literatur:


1. Cocker und Joss, 2016, PMID 27338436
2. Ferrara 2020, Versuchstierkunde Kompakt
3. LaFollete et al. 2020, PMID 32195275
4. Murray et al., 2020, PMID 33330693
5. Randall et al., 2021, PMID 33028460